Time to Submit Nominations for the 2019 John T. Hanna Awards: Recognizing Traffic Safety Excellence in Hampton Roads

It is TIME to submit nominations for the 2019 Hanna Awards!

In 1991, Concerned Citizens Advocating Traffic Safety (the previous name of Drive Safe HR)
instituted the JOHN T. HANNA AWARDS. Named after Virginia’s “Father of Transportation Safety”,
these awards honor those who share Mr. Hanna’s tireless dedication and commitment to improving
traffic safety on Virginia’s highways.

Submit your Nomination

**Please note that the Hanna Award submission process is entirely online.




Lifetime Safety Achievement Award: Presented for lifetime achievement in the area of transportation safety.
Employer Safety: Presented for employers who have taken the extra initiative to promote traffic safety and encourage their employees to practice safe driving behaviors.
Martin H. Schlosser Award for Traffic Safety Activism: Presented for outstanding efforts in educating citizens and changing attitudes and behavior regarding transportation safety.
Roadway Innovations: Presented for Individuals and/or organizations that show exemplary achievement in the design and/or implementation of highway engineering techniques, technology, and innovative approaches.
Impaired Driving Prevention: Presented for encouraging the prevention of drunk, drugged, drowsy, and/or drugged driving.
Law Enforcement Initiatives: Presented to a law enforcement department or individual who has shown extra initiative above and beyond the normal duties to promote and encourage traffic safety within their community.
Legal: Presented to attorneys, judges, or legislators who have actively supported safety issues thus strengthening existing laws and creating new laws that impact communities to help improve or reduce highway safety-related behaviors.
Messaging/Media: Presented to individuals or organizations, including but not limited to media representatives or news outlets, that have created messaging, used an innovative outreach method, or have helped spread the word about traffic safety through reporting or programming.
Occupant Protection: Presented for promoting and encouraging the use of safety belts and/or child safety seats through creative and innovative programs and activities.
Transportation Safety: Presented for developing approaches in the public and/or private sector, encouraging, educating, and/or promoting traffic safety to improve safety for drivers and riders. (**MODIFIED CATEGORY FOR 2019**)
Youth Traffic Safety: Presented to persons or programs educating youth and spreading the message on the importance of youth traffic safety.
Fire/Emergency Medical Services: Presented for actions at crash scenes or for activities or efforts that have a broader impact on improving at-scene safety and/or survivability and injury reduction for victims. (**NEW CATEGORY FOR 2019**)


Eligibility, Rules, and Notification:
Any individual, business, organization, or governmental agency in the Hampton Roads and Eastern Shore area, which promotes community traffic safety, i.e. sober driving, use of safety belts, bicycle or pedestrian safety, motorcycle safety, incident management, etc., is eligible for nomination. 2018 JOHN T. HANNA AWARD winners are not eligible for 2019 nomination. Eligible activities, programs or materials are those that were initiated, completed, published, or produced in the period from October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019. Entries must be received by November 15, 2019. Winners will be notified by December 20, 2019. Presentation of Awards: An individual award and/or an organizational award may be given in each category. They will be presented at the Awards Event on January 28, 2020 at the Princess Anne Country Club.


2018 John T. Hanna Award Winners

DRIVE SMART Virginia - Impaired Driving Prevention

Boost 'em in the Back Seat (Dr. Kelli England) - Occupant Protection

MPO Eriald Kera (Virginia Beach Police Department) - Law Enforcement Initiatives (Individual Award)

Chesapeake Police Department Traffic Enforcement Section - Law Enforcement Initiatives (Group Award)

Amy Stinnette (Chesapeake Commonwealth Attorney’s Office) - Legal

GEICO - Youth Traffic Safety

**Heritage High School - Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) Club (Jamie Plecker, Sponsor) - Pupil Transportation Safety

**City of Virginia Beach Traffic Engineering Division - Roadway Innovations

**Virginia Department of Transportation Hampton Roads District - Martin H. Schlosser Award for Traffic Safety Activism

John Fentress - Lifetime Achievement In Transportation Safety

** Governor’s Safety Award Winners (known)

Comments are closed.