Heads up Virginia drivers! Put your phones down while driving anywhere in the state of Virginia. Starting on January 1, 2021, law enforcement will issue tickets for this primary
offense of observing driving holding their cellphone while driving. The first offense costs
$125. The second offense will cost $250 or if the driver is observed violating the
handheld phone ban while driving law in a work zone.
Be smart and put your phone down while driving. Distracted driving is dangerous and costly. Often underreported, distracted driving by cell phones has caused thousands of deaths across the country every year and costs billions of dollars to the economy. Do your part to save lives and put your phone down. (Information reminder shared by Keri Douglas, Cell Guardian, MI Technical Solutions)