John T. Hanna Awards

In 1991, Concerned Citizens Advocating Traffic Safety (CCATS) instituted the JOHN T. HANNA AWARDS.  Named after Virginia’s “Father of Transportation Safety” these awards honor those who share John T. Hanna’s tireless dedication and commitment to improving traffic safety on Virginia's highways.

Mr. Hanna had an unparalleled zeal for safety that hallmarked his career and he still is an inspiration to every parent, police officer, judge, teacher, and citizen who is committed to saving lives through traffic safety.

Many people and organizations in Hampton Roads are doing tremendous work in the fight to reduce death and injury on our highways. You are invited to submit nominations to recognize outstanding traffic safety advocates - The JOHN T. HANNA Awards: Recognizing Traffic Safety Excellence in Hampton Roads

Please help us recognize noteworthy individuals and organizations by nominating them for the Annual JOHN T. HANNA AWARDS. 



2022 John T. Hanna Award Recipients

Dwight Jenkins 
- Martin H. Schlosser Award for Traffic Safety Activism

Cheryl Bertram - Impaired Driving Prevention

Jessica Xenakis and Ryan Arab - Occupant Protection: Individual – Co-Winners

MileOne Cares/Hall Toyota Virginia Beach -
Occupant Protection: Group

Gweedo Memorial Foundation - Legal

Deborah Fry - Youth Traffic Safety

VSP Division V Motorcycle Unit - Transportation Safety

Huffman and Huffman Brothers-in-Law, PLLC - Messaging/Media

Master Police Officer Eriald Kera - Law Enforcement Initiatives: Individual

Virginia Beach Police Department Motorcycle Unit -
Law Enforcement Initiatives: Group

Janet Brooking -The 2022 Lifetime Safety Achievement Award