John T. Hanna Award Nomination Form

Any individual, organization, business or governmental agency in the Hampton Roads and Eastern Shore area, which promotes community traffic safety, i.e. sober driving, use of safety belts, bicycle or pedestrian safety, motorcycle safety, incident management, etc., is eligible for nomination.  The 2018 JOHN T. HANNA AWARD Winners are not eligible for 2019 nomination.

Eligible activities, events, programs or materials are those that were initiated, completed, published, or produced within the period from October 1, 2018, to September 30, 2019. Entries must be postmarked no later than November 15, 2019.

The awards selection committee is made up of Drive Safe Hampton Roads members. Entries will be judged on: potential impact on the community, use of volunteers and private sector resources, creativity and imagination, quality of content, and supporting materials that enhance the project.

Winners will be notified by December 20, 2019.

An individual award and/or an organizational award may be given in each category. They will be presented at the Awards Event on January 28, 2020, at the Princess Anne Country Club.


Lifetime Safety Achievement Award: Presented for lifetime achievement in the area of transportation safety.

Employer Safety: Presented for employers who have taken the extra initiative to promote traffic safety and encourage their employees to practice safe driving behaviors.

Martin H. Schlosser Award for Traffic Safety Activism: Presented for outstanding efforts in educating citizens and changing attitudes and behavior regarding transportation safety.

Roadway Innovations: Presented for Individuals and/or organizations that show exemplary achievement in the design and/or implementation of highway engineering techniques, technology, and innovative approaches.

Impaired Driving Prevention: Presented for encouraging the prevention of drunk, drugged, drowsy, and/or drugged driving.

Law Enforcement Initiatives: Presented to a law enforcement department or individual who has shown extra initiative above and beyond the normal duties to promote and encourage traffic safety within their community.

Legal: Presented to attorneys, judges, or legislators who have actively supported safety issues thus strengthening existing laws and creating new laws that impact communities to help improve or reduce highway safety-related behaviors.

Messaging/Media: Presented to individuals or organizations, including but not limited to media representatives or news outlets, that have created messaging, used an innovative outreach method or has helped spread the word about traffic safety through reporting or programming. (**REVISED CATEGORY FOR 2019**)

Occupant Protection: Presented for promoting and encouraging the use of safety belts and/or child safety seats through creative and innovative programs and activities.

Transportation Safety: Presented for developing approaches in the public and/or private sector, encouraging, educating, and/or promoting traffic safety to improve safety for drivers and riders. (**MODIFIED CATEGORY FOR 2019**)

Youth Traffic Safety: Presented to persons or programs educating youth and spreading the message on the importance of youth traffic safety.

Fire/Emergency Medical Services: Presented for actions at crash scenes or for activities or efforts that have a broader impact on improving at-scene safety and/or survivability and injury reduction for victims. (**NEW CATEGORY FOR 2019**)

Form for Nominations opens August 16, 2019

Fill out my online form.